Community | Congregation Beth Am

Community

Families with Young Children

Families with Young Children

Congregation Beth Am offers many programs for families with young children, aimed at celebrating Shabbat and holidays together as a community as well as enriching observances in their own homes. Participate in these events to learn, observe and form friendships that will last for years to come!

Read more

Tot Shabbat Services and Dinners
Holiday Activities
Jewish Baby Network

Tot Shabbat Services and Dinners
Families with children ages five and under celebrate Shabbat in a kid-friendly service. Tot Shabbat includes singing, dancing, blessings and a short story told by one of the rabbis. Every month, families with young children enjoy an informal Shabbat dinner. We also hold Saturday morning Tot Shabbat services with lots of singing, dancing, snacking and playing. (See below for a 2018-19 schedule.)

Upcoming 2018-19 Tot Shabbats Services:
(Friday evening services are held at 5:15 PM; Saturday morning services are held at 9:15 AM.)

  • Saturday, September 29, 9:15 AM
  • Friday, October 12, 5:15 PM
  • Friday, November 16, 5:15 PM
  • Friday, December 7, 5:15 PM
    2019
  • Friday, January 11, 5:15 PM
  • Saturday, January 26, 9:15 AM
  • Friday, February 8, 5:15 PM
  • Friday, March 8, 5:15 PM
  • Saturday, March 23, 9:15 AM
  • Friday, April 12, 5:15 PM
  • Friday, May 10, 5:15 PM
  • Saturday, May 25, 9:15 AM
  • Friday, June 7, 5:15 PM
  • Friday, July 12, 5:15 PM

Holiday Activities
Children's programs are offered on various holidays and are designed to explore some of the central lessons of each holiday.

  • Rosh Hashanah at Redemption: Monday, September 10, 1:30 PM
  • Yom Kippur at Redemption: Wednesday, September 19, 1:30 PM
  • Congregational Sukkot Family Festival: Saturday, September 23, 4:00 PM
  • Sukkot Celebration for Families with Young Children: Saturday, September 29, 9:15 AM
  • Chanukah Tot Shabbat: Friday, January 7, 5:15 PM
  • Purim Shpiel and Carnival: Sunday, March 24, 10:50 AM

Jewish Baby Network

Beth Am and our partner congregation, Kol Emeth, launched the Jewish Baby Network to connect expectant parents and new families (with babies up to age 2) to each other and to Jewish life. We do this by offering playgroups, classes, welcome bags, special events and an online forum. Over 450 families have joined the Jewish Baby Network! Participating families rave about how the program has introduced them to new friends, motivated them to incorporate Jewish traditions into their new babies' lives and provided resources to help navigate life as a new parent within the larger Jewish community. Learn more at www.jewishbabynetwork.org.

Close
Congregation Beth Am
  • 26790 Arastradero Rd., Los Altos Hills, CA 94022
  • (650) 493-4661 Contact Us

We strive to live as a holy community whose study and practice of Judaism inspires and challenges us to "do justice, to love kindness and to walk humbly with our God" (Micah 6:8).