Sign In Forgot Password

Introduction to Judaism Class

Past Sessions
Tuesday, March 21, 2023 28 Adar 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, March 14, 2023 21 Adar 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 7 Adar 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 30 Sh'vat 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 23 Sh'vat 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 16 Sh'vat 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 9 Sh'vat 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 2 Sh'vat 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 24 Tevet 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, January 10, 2023 17 Tevet 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, December 20, 2022 26 Kislev 5783 - 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM - EARLIER START TIME FOR IN-PERSON MEETING: Social Hall and Kitchen
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 19 Kislev 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 12 Kislev 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 5 Kislev 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 21 Cheshvan 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 7 Cheshvan 5783 - 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM - Zoom Videoconference

Judaism 101... For Everyone; Tuesdays, Ending March 21, 2023

Welcome to Beth Am and The Orchard’s Introduction to Judaism Class. This course, taught by the Beth Am clergy, is for anyone who wishes to learn (or re-learn) more about Judaism. All are welcome: non-Jews, Jews, interfaith couples or those considering conversion. Students will learn the basics of Judaism in a friendly and informal atmosphere. We’ll explore fundamental aspects of Jewish practices, such as holiday observance and lifecycle celebrations. We’ll also discuss Jewish understandings of God and religious beliefs, important Jewish texts, Jewish history, literature and the significance of Israel in Judaism today.   

The class is also a wonderful way to become part of our community, meet new people and develop relationships with Beth Am clergy.

Introduction to Judaism meets on Tuesday nights (on Zoom) from 7:30-9:00 PM. There will be a few in-person gatherings to celebrate Jewish holidays together. 

For more information about Introduction to Judaism, the conversion process or Beth Am in general, please email Rabbi Jon Prosnit.

Sorry, Registration has ended.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Wed, June 12 2024 6 Sivan 5784